Spamming Colin Fiat
|
Author |
Message |


Power Egg
Member Lvl: 11
Egg Points: 19054
Posts: 630
|
| Posted: Sep 06, 2009 10:08 a.m. - Subject: Spamming Colin Fiat |
| |
Now that was strange – in a common even sort of way.
I received an email from some guy in the UK asking me about transferring money from PayPal to MoneyBookers – whatever that is. I wrote back explaining that I had no knowledge of what he was asking and pointed my e-finger at him by suggesting he go to the *town name* branch and asking them.
I figured he was a scammer from a different part of the world. And it seemed co-incidental that I finally bothered to try Second Life earlier today. (It sucks)
He wrote back!
He apologized for bothering me with something I did not have any experience with and asked about my thoughts on Second Life.
I gave him a Colin Fiat type lecture about how badly it sucked and explained that my query about his own experiences was due to a possible connection. No it was not.
His last reply indicated he had asked the question in another forum and someone suggested that I may be able to assist him.
So I went to the site, accessed the forum, entered my name into the search box, was presented with the common search page front end and the jumbled letter authentication box and clicked on the search button.
404’d
Even now, 15 minutes later, I still cannot access the site. It is down…
Why, when I spend hours searching for information and finally locate it somewhere in the back waters of the internet, do I often find I need to wait 20 minutes before the required page is available? Am I so jinxed that extra effort is always required or do I cause web pages to tremble in fear? (perhaps not the latter but it feels like it sometimes.)
Ah ha, someone named gogogog123 has spammed Colin Fiat 4 times on that site. Thanks for the advertising, keep it up.
C.F.
|


Master Egg
Member Lvl: 34
Egg Points: 1511706
Posts: 3073 AIM YIM
|
| Posted: Sep 06, 2009 10:29 a.m. - Subject: |
| |
Yep, sounds like a scam to me.
MoneyBookers? sounds like an outfit of gamblers.
What? there are other people using the name of
Colin Fiat on other sites?
How dare they!
Lol, good story bro.
|


Power Egg
Member Lvl: 13
Egg Points: 5764
Posts: 704 AIM YIM
|
| Posted: Sep 06, 2009 12:21 p.m. - Subject: |
| |
Second Life is quite a boring waste of time, isn’t it? Some people actually pay for it, I guess.
|


Power Egg
Member Lvl: 11
Egg Points: 19054
Posts: 630
|
| Posted: Sep 07, 2009 8:54 a.m. - Subject: |
| |
How wonderful. The spam email has begun to trickle in.
I would have become a member of ManHunt, where I could find that hunky guy I’ve always dreamed about except that I did not bother to click on the validation link. And my got spelled wrong: Colon_Fart.
TreeHugger will be sending me their news letters; should be an interesting read.
Nine activation requests came from Syracude.com for all of their different departments such as mortgage finder, orange insider, high school sports update, business today and so on.
Cemarketing.biz wants me to confirm that I am interested in joining their pyramid scheme. Not likely, especially since I was addressed as Colon, again.
Ben from Short Sale Breakthrough has welcomed me to his site but with a cancel link. One click and I am removed from the mailing list.
Then a couple more from Rachel at cemarketing.biz (doubletrillions.cashexpand.com) followed by another Short Sale Ben email.
What a fucking pathetic attempt! Come on you loser, you’ll have to try much harder than that to get my full attention. A total of 16 spam emails in 12 hours? What a waste of effort. I receive between 70 and 150 spam emails per day even with server and client side filters on max. My email addresses are being blasted by 5000+ emails per day.
Give it up, who ever your are (twisted transistor?) cos I absolutely love the attention.
Colon Fart Incorporated!
|


Power Egg
Member Lvl: 14
Egg Points: 1129847
Posts: 2797 AIM YIM
|
| Posted: Sep 07, 2009 10:09 a.m. - Subject: |
| |
I have a Google Alerts thing set up for any mention of RE, and it turned this out yesterday, might give you a clue.
|


Power Egg
Member Lvl: 11
Egg Points: 19054
Posts: 630
|
| Posted: Sep 07, 2009 8:23 p.m. - Subject: |
| |
Thanks NonPermissive,
This is the site I mentioned in my first post. There were, at the time, 4 identical posts but not any real clue who was behind it. But it does not matter because the effort is minimal and any free advertising is great.
C.F.
|
|
|